I Love Mat Leave But…

I love being on mat leave. I love being with my daughter and watching her grow and discover the world around her. I love being able to be at the cottage for more than just a weekend here and there around summer weddings.

But…

I miss having weekends to recharge and refresh. Something constant to look forward to. Yes, there are full days my husband is home but it doesn’t change much for me.

It used to be that I would go into work on Monday all tired and bleary eyed and jump into work and run all the weekend reports. Talk about the past weekend, upcoming weekend, how tired I am(I was known a not being a morning person), etc.

Tuesdays were very anticlimactic but I had few meetings so it was the one day to get a lot of work done.

Wednesday afternoon! Halfway done the work week! Yes!! It’s all downhill now!

Then Thursday rolls along and I usually had 3 meetings. Between that and breaks and getting into work and preparing for meetings and getting to the meetings early my day was usually done before it got started. And then! Only one day left of the work week! Yes! If I wanted to stay up late it was alright because I only had one day of work to suffer through.

Then after that was wonderful Friday! Pretty much the whole day was a countdown to the wonderful moment when I step out into the sunshine and drive home (in my memory winter or rainy days didn’t exist on Fridays).

Now I had 2 whole days where I didn’t have to wake up at the crack of dawn, or if I did it is because I CHOSE to! I could do whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted! I could eat when I wanted! During the week I would obsess about my meals and what I would eat next, on the weekends I was rarely hungry!

Weekends really were magical!

Now I am always hungry. I always wake up at the crack of dawn. I don’t have any particular day of the week to look forward to.

But I wouldn’t give up this magical time for anything!

  1. #1 by charmacc on July 28, 2010 - 1:27 am

    I remember those days, where you’re not even sure what day of the week it is! Routine and schedules are nice, indeed. But at least you are remembering to enjoy this time with your babe while you have it! 🙂

    • #2 by impossiblyalice on July 29, 2010 - 12:48 am

      I also have days of the weeks bibs that we use at breakfast which helps. My husband bought a french calendar so the week starts on Monday which doesn’t help.

  2. #3 by charmacc on July 30, 2010 - 4:13 am

    That calendar would throw me RIGHT off.

Leave a Reply

