A Wink

Growing up I had all these glamorous notions of adopting an abused dog and making it fall in love with me. Let me tell you, it is not glamorous. I used to volunteer at a local animal shelter and while leaving one day I passed by a new dog in a cage and stopped to check it out. She was brown, medium sized. curled up into a tiny ball and she WINKED at me. I fell in love immediately.  My husband picked me up and I told him we were getting a dog.

We got her 2 days later and she was so shy but loving.

She has countless problems with anxiety, submissiveness, and just being a dog. We’ve gone for help and have called for more but it seems like every step forward we make is very tiny and is sometimes followed by a few back steps. It is so frustrating because we’ve had glimpses of the fun and loving sweetheart dog she can be and sometimes it seems we will never get there. It is such a production to get her outside to pee before we put her into her cage and leave the house that some days it is just easier to stay home. I feel like a prisoner in my own home sometimes.

She is part Border Collie and part Australian Shepherd so she is very smart. I can teach her tricks to perform very easily. Unfortunately since she is so smart, you can only trick her once and then she won’t fall for it. Sometimes I wish I got a less intelligent but equally cute breed. There are some days when I wish we could give her up. She escaped from her yard one days and I am ashamed to admit that a small part of me thought maybe someone would take her and keep her and I would have my freedom back.

But there are those days where she winks at me and my heart melts all over again and we are in love again.

  1. #1 by Kathryn Gompf on September 13, 2010 - 1:12 am

    Oh, this tugs at my heart – we had a rescue dog that tried our patience beyond anything we have done – Separation Sam. It is impossible to explain to any the struggles. Sam is in doggie heaven (after 6 years of living an enchanted life with us or so I like to think) and this makes me miss him like crazy:)

    • #2 by impossiblyalice on September 13, 2010 - 2:26 am

      How old was Sam when you got him? Were you able to ever leave him alone in the house without crating?

      Sometimes I really do think it would be so much easier without her…but I would also miss her like crazy.

      My mother in law had to come over and walk her for a bit while we were at a wedding yesterday. She managed to get out of her collar during the walk while being submissive towards another dog. My mother in law told the other dog to go back home. My dog took off and my mother in law was chasing her trying to get her. She rounded the corner to our street and our dog was sitting at the end of the driveway. When she saw my mother in law she ran towards our backyard. The funny thing is that we call the cage our dog’s “home” so my dog was trying to get back there. She has no interest in leaving us!

      We’ve worked with a dog trainer and we can call on him anytime. He’s helped us a LOT with getting her into the cage before we go out.

Leave a Reply

