My Journey Through Art

When I gather with old friends, they are always amazed by the random memories I have of our childhoods. I suppose that the ones I remember made an impact on my life.

I cannot create abstract art. I do not even know how to start. I barely draw anymore and I used to have promise as an occasional drawing. Drawing was a hobby.

*flashback to grade 1*

It was art time and we all had our papers and crayons in front of us. My teacher put on some music and we were to draw to the music. Yes! I was so excited. This is what I am all about. Sure, it isn’t the Fred Penner that I usually listened to (it was classical music) but I had this in the bag. When the music went fast and heavy I coloured really fast and hard. When it was light violins or flutes I would colour really lightly and slowly. I would draw lines when I heard the brass instruments. Swirls when I felt the music was swirly. I was sure that my art piece was the BEST in the class. Perhaps the BEST my teacher had ever seen.

The music stopped and we all put our crayons down. I looked around and everyone else at my table just scribbled. They obviously didn’t hear the music like I did and translate it into shapes and lines and pressure of the crayons.

My teacher went around and looked at all of ours and she picked up one boy’s work to show the class. He drew a zebra and a tree. A ZEBRA AND A TREE?!?!? How could the teacher be praising him? He didn’t feel the music like I did!

*flashforward to junior high*

It was the greatest honour for those in art to have their art on the wall. What got me on the wall? Copying Disney pictures. My greatest aspiration at the time was to be an animator for Disney. All the other pieces I created for art class went into my folder but it seemed like almost every Disney picture I did went on the wall. And everyone would know that they were mine. I was so proud.

*flashforward to grade 10*

There is no place for Disney drawings in high school art. We must do pencil drawings for our homework of items in my house. I quickly discovered that the darker the pencil used and the more of it used, the higher mark I got. An intricate drawing of a plant in our house with the detailing on the leaves? Low mark. Maybe a 6 out of 10. A monopoly board with money spread around it with the background behind the board shaded in darkly? 9 out of 10. It was so disappointing for me that the quick drawings were the ones to get the high marks. I easily got a high mark on the drawing portion of my exam. When I got to grade 11 I could only choose french or art. I chose french because I got to on a trip to France.

*flashforward to present*

I am only now realizing the my knitting can be considered an art form. I can use my creative skills and create beautiful items. If I am feeling uninspired I only need to knit something based on a pattern to learn a new skill to apply to a later project. I am happy with this.

Maybe one day I will pick up my pastels again and draw or teach my daughter how to use them but until that time the click of my needles and the feel of the wool in my hands is enough.

, ,

  1. #1 by charmacc on August 10, 2010 - 1:40 am

    Everyone finds that one thing that moves them, inspires them, gives life to creativity. As we age and mature it is bound to change. I’m glad you have found somethng that still let’s you express and helps you to continue to learn and grow. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

