Forgetful Jones

Remember him from Sesame Street? I wonder if he was really my father. I don’t look like a muppet (I hope!) but I must have inherited this forgetfulness somewhere.

My husband goes to great lengths sometimes to get me to remember things. He puts things on top of the diaper bag (before that, my purse) yet I will still forget whatever it was he was reminding me of. He will call me to remind me to do stuff, to which I will always get angry at him for because OF COURSE I will remember it! As soon as I hang up the phone I promptly forget about it.

Then there are my sunglasses. Every time I leave the house it’s a mad dash through the house trying to figure out where I put them. My husband always asks why I don’t put them in the same spot every time. Sometimes I attempt to but I either forget where that spot is or I get distracterd before I put them away.

I am starting to catch up to my brain. If I can’t find my blackberry and I remember last seeing it upstairs, it is usually on the change table.

So you’d think I would remember some things when I come out to the cottage. Yes, I remember my knitting but do I remember enough underwear? Of course not!

How do I only bring some? Perfectly logical explanation! I had some in my suitcase I didn’t use last time so I kept it there. I washed some and left it to hang to dry. While packing I went downstairs 5 times to get stuff. But did I remember underwear? Of course not!

In the bathroom I put everything together to bring, including day moisturizer, night moisturizer, and my sensodyne toothpaste. What did I bring? Well, not the toothpaste!

Sigh.

Is anyone else as “out of sight out of mind” or as easily distracted as I am?

  1. #1 by iMadeItSo on August 17, 2010 - 3:48 am

    yep. and moreso with each child i have…

    • #2 by impossiblyalice on August 17, 2010 - 3:59 am

      Oh no! I was bad enough before my baby – we won’t even mention what my pregnancy and new motherhood was like!.

  2. #3 by Augmented Gem on August 17, 2010 - 3:58 am

    Your husbands right. If you put things in the same spot all the time there is no forgetting because it becomes second nature. Before I pack I make a list, add to it as you remeber something else you’ll need and cross them off as they are packed. I went away one weekend and remembered everything except my clothes lol they were packed, just didn’t put them in the car. Everyone else thought I was looking for an excuse to go buy new clothes and left them on purpose 😀

    • #4 by impossiblyalice on August 17, 2010 - 4:07 am

      I guess I need to find a spot for things that make more sense than the baby change table! I had a spot at the cottage for my sunglasses but I don’t think my grandma liked it because she always moved them!

      As for lists…I am a really great list maker! Awesome! I love maki Ng lists! I am also great at forgetting said lists at home or even just choosing to not look at these lists because “I will remember everthing on the list! After all I wrote it down once.”

      But not having clothes…I hope you were somewhere you could get reasonable priced clothes!

      My motto usually is(if you are going somewhere semi-civilized): don’t stress about packing because if you forget something important, you can always buy it!

  3. #5 by charmacc on August 17, 2010 - 4:07 am

    I’m the opposite of you. I can catch a glimpse of something and then know exactly where it is days later. Today McK asked if I knew where a specific book of hers was that we haven’t had out in ages and I said “yup its in the drawer of the side table to the left of the couch”. She was actually impressed. 🙂

    • #6 by impossiblyalice on August 17, 2010 - 4:14 am

      About random things my memory is creepy good. And sometimes I put things in what some people think is a very abstract place but makes perfect sense to me. My husband called me last time I was out here thinking he found library books he thought I lost (library books are something I do NOT lose). And I told him I knew where they were and then told him what the books were and how I felt about each one, as if I had to prove to him that for once I knew what I was talking about.

      I am honestly good at remembering things that happened though. Maybe I am just not spatial!

Leave a Reply

