Have You Met Jane Jetson?

I was watching TV today and I realized that the day I never thought would ever come has arrived. We are living in a Jetson’s world.

No, there are not flying cars, no Rosie the robot cleaning my house (but man I would LOVE that), no apartments on poles that you can move into and out of weather, and no moving sidewalk in my house.

But remember their gigantic videophones? We are there. Yes, we’ve had video conferencing and skype for a while but with the iPhone 4 we can now talk face to face anywhere, anytime without being tied to your computer. I always remember when Jane Jetson’s friend called her one morning and she quickly had to “put on her face” before she answered. My childhood self thought that I would never see that in my lifetime. I guess my 7 year old self was very short sighted!

And remember the pills for meals? We aren’t there yet but I am sure some people are close. There are meal replacement shakes and various meal supplements in pill form. I love tasting and eating too much to give up food but wouldn’t it be great to be able to eat a whole meal and your Rosie robot wouldn’t have to do any dishes? Or, I guess you, since we aren’t in a full robot using era yet.

As for flying cars, the aerospace industry is too much of a mess right now for that to be in the near future, but we are getting closer to having computers as our best friends.

Imagine, you could feel more connected than you can with facebook yet never have to leave your house, take a moving sidewalk through your house in the sky so you never have to walk, and take a pill for all your meals that is specially tailord so you feel satisfied yet not gain any weight!

It is too bad that the word sprocket isn’t in the blackberry dictionary yet. Perhaps it is in the iPhone…

  1. #1 by san on August 24, 2010 - 2:41 pm

    You’re quite right about all this.

    I just heard a report on NPR the other day, talking about the “science fiction” movies of the 60’s and 70’s and how – not all of it, but a heck of a lot – has happened exactly like they predicted back then.

    Crazy 😉

    • #2 by impossiblyalice on August 24, 2010 - 2:59 pm

      There is a show I’ve caught a bit of on TV before called something like “how William shatner changed the world” and it looked Al all these things from the original star trek that have become a reality.

Leave a Reply

