I have FOs?!?

Well, I was finally motivated to finish my two WIPs because I’ve joined the Harry Potter Knitting/Crochet House Cup on Ravelry without really knowing what I was getting myself into. I may struggle a bit because some of the participants are really into it. The assignments start at the start of the month and  are. I hope this will be great motivation for more FOs!

Without further ado here they are!

First I have the Otto Short Sleeved Pull Over by Kristen Rengren from the fabulous book Vintage Baby Knits. When I started this, I was able to knit with my baby sleeping in my arms/assisted by the pillow. I soon learned that I could not do stranded work so this was very slow going. Plus I choose cotton. I will not make a cotton sweater anytime soon. It really hurt my arms. And then there’s the strandedness of it all. Think of all the ends to weave in, in addition to the sewing. procrastination galore! When I finally pulled this piece out again to sew in the ends and sew up the sides, my husband couldn’t believe that I hadn’t finished it yet because he hasn’t seen it in so long. I had imagine of my daughter wearing it this summer as a dress which is the main reason I knit it in cotton.

Each piece I knit has a memory associated with it. When I look at this one, I remember watching The Pacific every Sunday night with friends. Yes, that is how long it’s been sitting waiting for me to sew in the ends. I hang my head in shame.

Despite all this I am mostly satisfied with the piece. She has some frilly bright pink tight capris I may pair this with for now. I choose to do this sweater in bone and brown so that it will go with everything, and so that it is gender neutral so I can pass this sweater along! Let’s just hope that the neck opening will be large enough for her to wear this sweater for more than a month or 2.

And now for the non-procrastinating dress…

I also completed (except for the crochet button loops because I have to borrow a hook from my mom!) the Little Sister dress by Tora Frøseth Design. My baby is an only child by this dress is way to beautiful that I couldn’t pass it up! It also helped that Ram’s Wool was having a sale so I got to knit it in Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino!

I knit this dress pretty fast and often later at night so I don’t have too many memories involved with it. The one advice I give is to use circular needles! I didn’t have the right size and was too lazy to go to the store so I knit it on dpns and I kept on dropping stitches and having to pick them up – I wasn’t quite swearing but very often on the verge of. So please, if you make this USE CIRCULAR NEEDLES. I got the most adorable puppy buttons in Gimli for this dress! It came in a package of a bunch so you see them again! What is probably the BEST thing about this dress is that it is knit top down and in the round so you don’t have to sew anything up!

I can’t figure out how to get the picture above have the correct colouring. The dress is an lilac-ish type colour, closer to the other 2 pictures. I would have preferred grape or plum but it wasn’t available and this is almost as good!

On the etsy front – I have photographed most of my items. Next…figuring out the postage and creating a banner! I want to start-up right after the long weekend! Wish me luck!

What have you crafted lately? Have you finished anything that has just been sitting around?

, , ,

  1. #1 by Adrienne on September 2, 2010 - 3:03 pm

    Your knitting is gorgeous! I would love to be able to knit like that. I really love the sweater and the colours your chose for it. And the dress is amazing! She could always wear it over a pair of little jeans this winter since it looks like summer is on the way out.

    I am the worst at procrastinating, which reminds me that I have a picture of a clutch to send you. 🙂

    & feel free to email if you need any help setting up your Etsy shop or with postage info. I think I could work at the post office by now, I have every rate memorized!

    • #2 by impossiblyalice on September 2, 2010 - 3:52 pm

      Thank you so much for the compliments! I did both of them in a 12 month size so that she can wear the sweater as a dress now, and a sweater in the winter! And I always imagined the dress with long sleeves and tight pants as well. I even got some plain long sleeved onesies in the same size so I could do this!

      And I will check out the clutch. I am going to try to figure out this postage stuff today (if I can stay away during naptime!).

  2. #3 by Kyla Roma on September 4, 2010 - 2:59 pm

    Oh my gosh, these are gorgeous!! Your work is so beautiful, I’m more than a little awed 🙂

    • #4 by impossiblyalice on September 4, 2010 - 4:34 pm

      Thanks Kyla! I’m telling you, it’s the finer gauge (is that the right word?) wool. It makes a difference!

  3. #5 by Augmented Gem on September 8, 2010 - 8:22 pm

    Fab work! The purple is perfection.

  4. #6 by saltcityspice on November 3, 2010 - 3:46 am

    WOW! These are absolutely incredible! If I could make clothes like this, I might never again buy anything. What beautiful memories your daughter will have when she can someday pass these on to HER daughter. I can’t wait to see more of your work in your Etsy store.

    • #7 by impossiblyalice on November 3, 2010 - 4:42 am

      Thanks Katrina. You probably would see baby or children stuff in my store. The labelling requirements in order to sell in the US are too strict for me right now. I want this to be something I enjoy doing!

  1. Hand-me Down Knit! | Impossibly Alice

Leave a Reply

