My New Challenge

As many of you readers know, I am on maternity leave. I have 4 months left to go and money is starting to get tight. Mostly because we had to get our roof re-shingled and we have to pay for a trip to Mexico that is coming up next year.


[Some coins. Originally uploaded to Flickr by dvwtwo]


So for the first time since I don’t remember when, I am on a budget. Here is what I am doing:

– I took out some money last weekend that I thought I would need and I didn’t end up using it. I am living on cash for the next 2 months. This way I will be accountable for what I spend money on. The only thing exempt is groceries and we are not crazy grocery shopper – I have self-control on Costco!

– No new clothes or shoes unless absolutely necessary. And then I guess I have to try to thrift! Right now I am going to try to rethink my clothes in a new way and create new outfits. I am not the best at this so this will challenge me in 2 ways. The no shoes is really hard but since I am on maternity leave, I don’t really need to buy “nice” shoes. My Chucks will do me just fine for every day wear.

– I have to try to figure out how to use the gross yarn I regret buying.

– We are eating cheaper and easy to make food such on kraft dinner, zoodles, etc on the days we are tempted to get take out food.

What are you doing to save money? Do you have any more tips for me?

  1. #1 by Jennifer Robinson on September 17, 2010 - 12:54 am

    I have been sick for 4 days and haven’t been able to do my weekly grocery store run, which should have been done 2 days ago. I only ever buy enough food for one week, so as of today, our cupboards are pretty bare. The funny thing is, now we are eating the food that everyone thought they wanted in the store, but weren’t eating because “their favourites” were in the house too. I anticipate throwing out less food now, all because there aren’t as many choices for snacks and desserts. So maybe stretching out your grocery shopping to every 9 or 10 days once in a while isn’t a bad thing, and might even save money!

  2. #2 by Augmented Gem on September 24, 2010 - 2:20 am

    I am real bad at saving. Need to work on it. I am however, great at spending less money on the things I want or need. Does that make up for it? lol

    I’ve got an award for you over at my blog. You can get it here http://augmentedgem.blogspot.com/2010/09/awarded-while-in-recovery.html

  3. #3 by Nicole on September 25, 2010 - 12:38 pm

    My almost 13 yr old is into energy conservation so she has us using the oven for everything at once, which would help you too.
    Buy a big bag of baking potatoes, coat them in veg oil and salt and bake and bake and bake … keep them in the fridge to zap in a microwave, fry up with veg and the all fav baked potatoe. Also, buy ready made pizza dough in the bakery section about $2.50 a bag, roll out, add cooked chopped onions, turkey bacon or other, roll it together, stuff in a bread pan and bake – awesome for everything. Buy bulk brown rice, healthier choice and try this for breakfast, cook rice, add raw egg and flour to thicken, make into round flat pancakes and fry, savory or sweet!
    Good luck …
    my daughters site is
    wisewordsbywiki btw

  4. #4 by Amber on September 27, 2010 - 4:28 pm

    Suggestion for the clothing thing:

    Rather than thrift, maybe put together some items you don’t wear as often, and suggest a clothing swap with some friends? My girlfriends and I do this from time when we’re all finding we’re getting a little sick of our clothes. Anything that doesn’t get snapped up either goes back home with the owner, or if they just don’t want it anymore – off to charity.

    It’s a great excuse to get together with friends, and put some great new outfits together 🙂

  5. #5 by san on September 30, 2010 - 11:03 pm

    Oh, being on a budget… it can be tough.

    I hate reading all the good “advice” on how to save money online, only to realize that I am ALREADY DOING ALL THAT.
    So how can I save some more money?

    I guess, for me it comes down to this:
    Don’t buy anything that you don’t absolutely need.

    • #6 by impossiblyalice on October 6, 2010 - 4:00 pm

      That is what I am trying to do now San! I really hope it’s making a difference!

Leave a Reply

