I Am Not A Morning Person

30 November 2009

Image by Alegrya via Flickr

I grew up thinking I was a morning person because my sister was not. She would sleep in, and she would sleep hard. NOTHING would wake her up. On the other hand, I would wake up easily and I would read or watch cartoons. I was never late for school because I couldn’t get up.

In first year university, I took some classes at 8:30 in the morning. That was the only year I did that. In fact, I really wanted to take Math in Art but it was only offered at 8:30 so I decided against it.

Before I was on maternity leave, I would start work between  6 and 6:30, the time really was flexible because it was so early and barely anyone was there yet. I thought that this meant I was a morning person. One day one of the managers commented that I am not a morning person. Another one said that they try to not talk to me until 8:00 am. I thought this was crazy! I was at work! I was able to do my job!

Something to Wake Up To

Image by MJIphotos via Flickr

I now know the difference.  A morning person can wake up in the morning and be a fully functioning person. I can wake up in the morning but I can only read, watch TV, or do work with no one around. I cannot have a conversation or think outside the box. And I enjoy thinking outside the box. The only time I enjoy being awake early is when I am camping – there is something about the quietness of the morning I love when I am outside. Probably because my brain can slowly catch up while I enjoy nature.

This is challenging with a baby but luckily she is content to play in my bed in the morning while my brain wakes up slower than the rest of my body and we have a quiet time together.

Are you a morning person? Can I learn to be one?

, ,

  1. #1 by san on October 7, 2010 - 1:57 am

    Mmh, I never thought about it this way… I don’t have a problem to get up early and start work early, but I also need it to be “quiet” for me to get going.
    I don’t think being a morning person means that you have to be bubbling over with energy in the morning, but as long as you’re not grumpy or not functional, you can still call yourself a morning person (IMHO). Nothing is black and white, there are tons of shades of gray 🙂

  2. #2 by Slamdunk on October 7, 2010 - 4:04 am

    I was a morning person before fatherhood. Now I just plead for a little more sleep whatever time of day it is.

  3. #3 by charmacc on October 8, 2010 - 3:47 am

    I’m a morning person in that I can get up and do everything as easily as I would a few hours later. I don’t necessarily LIKE being up in the morning and I certainly stay in bed as long as I know I can but I have no issues with comptency, functioning or putting on a happy face. I cannot for the life of me wake up earlier than I have to to run or exercise or anything like that but if its to go on a trip, go hiking, or climb a mountain I can pull off a 4 am wake up with a smile. 🙂

    I don’t think its a learned trait. I think its all just part of who you are.

Leave a Reply

