What I Love About Autumn

Autumn is finally in the air, for the second time! Here are some of the things I love about autumn:

  • corduroy. I will never wear cords in the spring or summer. I break them out in autumn. My preferred cord is a thinner wale word (I just learned that word 3 years ago) in a faded black/dark gray colour. This clutch from MilkandHoneyHandbags on Etsy pretty much says it all…if only it were a skinny pant!
  • red leaves. Where I live they are more rare. Most of the trees turn yellow or a depressing brown. I have a lovely clematis on my back fence with all red leaves right now which makes me happy. They are pretty similar to this wonderful photo by RedLeafGallery on Etsy
  • warm plaids. I bought a beautiful purple plaid coat 2 autumns ago. It got very cold here very fast so I didn’t get to wear it much. The following fall, I was pregnant. I am excited to finally wear it again! I can’t find any pictures of it online and of course, there are none of me wearing it so use your imagination and then make it 50 times more beautiful and that is my coat!
  • cardigans. Being a knitter I love cozy and warm cardigans. This cardigan by knitsbyjessie on Etsy is pretty much my idea of perfection. If you want to get me a Christmas gift, this would be it!
  • the smell of winter coming.
  • fall food: soups, casseroles, baking, anything that I don’t like to make when I am too hot in the summer!
  • making a Halloween costume! I you would consider how I make costumes upcycling because I usually go to value village, buy some random clothes and make a costume from it! This year, I am going to be a werewolf hunter who turned into a zombie. I look forward to seeing all the costumes at the social I am going to!

What do you love about autumn?

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Kyla Roma on October 15, 2010 - 3:14 pm

    Fall food!! We have leeks in the garden still and I can’t wait to make them into potato leek soup ๐Ÿ™‚

    • #2 by impossiblyalice on October 15, 2010 - 4:34 pm

      If you ever brought delicious soup to knit night I wouldn’t complain…

  2. #3 by San on October 15, 2010 - 8:58 pm

    I love fall. And I love corduroy! I think it’s cozy and chic at the same time.

    Oh, and there is going to be a lot of fall food around my house… stews, casseroles, … you name it ๐Ÿ™‚

    • #4 by impossiblyalice on October 20, 2010 - 7:46 pm

      Yum! Sometimes I want to live at your house so you can feed me all the time!

  3. #5 by Emily Jane on October 17, 2010 - 4:50 pm

    I LOVE making Halloween costumes!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • #6 by impossiblyalice on October 20, 2010 - 7:46 pm

      It is so fun, isn’t it? I have some friends who buy costumes but love to dress up but for me, it is the whole process of creating a costume that I love. I am not the best sewer but luckily I have my mom on hand for helping me with anything that is more complicated than a straight stitch and for letting me use her sewing machine!

  4. #7 by ana @ i made it so on October 26, 2010 - 8:54 pm

    that sweater looks so squooshy and perfect for fall. hope you get it!

    • #8 by impossiblyalice on October 27, 2010 - 4:46 am

      Thanks but I doubt I will get it anytime soon. A trip to Mexico is what my husband and I are getting each other for Christmas. I just paid for it today. If it is still there when I go back to work it may have to be a back to work present I buy myself with my first paycheque!

Leave a Reply

