Learning to Give Up, Just a Little

Today was more of a lesson for me than for my baby. For the past few weeks I have been fighting to feed her lunch. She would take a spoonful or 2 of food and then refuse to eat anymore. Even when it was food she loves. I felt like I was failing her because I couldn’t get her to eat. I was worried that she was just becoming an extremely picky eater (I REALLY do not want that) and she only liked bland food because she would eat all the Cheerios and puffed wheat I put on her tray.

Today I finally decided that if she won’t let me feed her, I would let her try to feed herself. She still eats breakfast from the spoon and I still breastfeed so it’s not like she will starve, right?

I just dumped the pile of mush on her tray, gave her the spoon, and added some puffed wheat and Cheerios to it so she had something she could pick up. And meal time turned FUN for both of us! I stopped worrying, she stopped whining, and we both relaxed! She did much more smooshing the food between her fingers than actually eating but it is a start. She rubbed the spoon more in her hair than putting it in her mouth, but she got it in her mouth a few times.

Yes, it took a lot longer than it would have if she ate from the spoon, yes it was A LOT messier but she did eat a bit. Now she is happily playingย  in her play pen and we are both more relaxed.

, , ,

  1. #1 by San on October 20, 2010 - 7:56 pm

    I guess that’s the messy part that you have to go through in order for her to learn how to eat… ๐Ÿ™‚

    • #2 by impossiblyalice on October 26, 2010 - 6:44 pm

      Thanks! I can’t wait for the messy part with respect to her clothes is over…we often have her eat in just a diaper!

  2. #3 by Emily Jane on October 25, 2010 - 1:39 pm

    Yay! I love how I can apply this to adult life too. Learning how to do things myself the first time can hold the potential to be an enormous mess, but sometimes that’s how we learn best ๐Ÿ™‚

    • #4 by impossiblyalice on October 26, 2010 - 6:45 pm

      Yes, it seems it is sometimes more scary for an adult to learn something new for the first time. We should all take a cue from babies!

  3. #5 by Kyla Roma on October 25, 2010 - 4:56 pm

    Fantastic! Isn’t it funny how sometimes when you just throw up your hands and go, “Okay then, you take the reigns” things all fall into place? So happy for you guys, a fun meal sounds like a great thing ๐Ÿ™‚

    • #6 by impossiblyalice on October 26, 2010 - 6:46 pm

      Thanks! Mealtime is so much more stress free now. I am back to the mini stress of thinking of meals that aren’t just peas and rice.

  4. #7 by ana @ i made it so on October 26, 2010 - 8:55 pm

    they say the best way for little ones to learn is through play ๐Ÿ™‚ good for you for letting go and letting things get messy.

    • #8 by impossiblyalice on October 27, 2010 - 4:47 am

      She was surprisingly good at eating beans tonight. And she loved them sooo much! It wasn’t very messy. This afternoon she even ate raw peaches. She got a huge chunk once and I was so scared she would choke on it but she chewed and swallowed it. I am so proud of her eating today!

Leave a Reply

