Chocolate Zucchini Cake

Last year, when I was pregnant, I was sitting at my desk at work and I was suddenly overcome with the NEED to eat chocolate zucchini cake. I had not had a pregnancy craving before this, in fact most of my pregnancy was about aversions to formerly beloved food. I started crying because I didn’t crave just any cake but the cake that I had at my Great Grandma’s house when I was a kid. My Great Grandma actually stayed alive until I was 19 so I was very lucky to have her in my life so long. Since she is gone, I was worried how I would get the cake. My Grandma was in the hospital on what we thought was her deathbed (she’s since made a 100% recovery!), so I would have been able to get the recipe from her.

I was so worked up about this, I called my mom crying. And she told me that SHE was the one who made the cake for my Grandma and she had the recipe! Well being at work, I thought she couldn’t get it for me but she heard how upset I was, so she found it online. Here is the only food that I craved for most of my pregnancy.

I went to the grocery store on my way home to pick up the ingredients that I didn’t have on hand and when I walked in the door, I baked the cake. I didn’t sit down, didn’t relax, didn’t nap, didn’t watch tv. I made the cake and waited for it bake. I topped it off with a simple chocolate butter cream frosting. I can’t share the recipe with you because I just throw ingredients together randomly and it never turns out the same twice.

When I bit into that cake last year for the first time in way too many years, a flood of memories came back to me of spending time on my Great Grandma’s farm. I don’ t know now if I was craving the cake, or the memories.

, , ,

  1. #1 by corina on October 29, 2010 - 8:48 pm

    doh! no recipe? I NEED chocolate zucchini cake NOWAH!

  2. #2 by corina on October 29, 2010 - 8:49 pm

    phew! I just clicked the link and found it. off to the grocery store…

    • #3 by impossiblyalice on October 30, 2010 - 12:30 am

      Did you make it vegan-style? How was it? And the key is the chocolate chips. Well really everything is the key because it is awesome. I made it for a party and everyone was excited about chocolate chips!

  3. #4 by PaperFlora on November 4, 2010 - 5:23 am

    Yum…I can totally put this in my veggie column right?

    Stopping by from Wednesday Friendsday and Team Discovery –

    http://paperflora2.blogspot.com
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/PaperFlora
    http://twitter.com/PaperFlora2
    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/paperflora

  4. #6 by Emily Jane on November 6, 2010 - 1:33 am

    I’m going to have to try this… I love chocolate and zucchini and I’ve never heard of the two together… I sense a weekend project! 🙂

    • #7 by impossiblyalice on November 6, 2010 - 2:33 am

      What? You’ve never had it? Go make it tomorrow!!! Zucchini is a magical ingredient that makes the cake sooo moist and delicious!

  5. #8 by PamJ on November 27, 2010 - 8:03 pm

    I ❤ new recipes. THANKS for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

