One Year Ago Today

One year ago today:

  • I was a few days short of being 8 months pregnant
  • I slept in, not knowing it was the last time to do so for a looooooong time
  • I woke up slowly, and I read while still in bed
  • I didn’t feel well
  • I read a lot, did some knitting, and watched some TV, had a lot of “me” time
  • I didn’t feel like eating
  • I had plans to go Christmas shopping that night with my Mom
  • I received my first order of cloth diapers
  • I didn’t understand what it meant to completely give yourself to someone else
  • I had plans to get a Christmas tree over the weekend
  • My hands were so swollen I had dimples on my knuckles like a baby and I had to wear wrist guards to prevent carpal tunnel
  • I tried to help my husband get our new bathroom sink installed and working
  • I went to Don’s Photo to pick up some photos to give to my Dad the next day when he came to visit
  • I have a wonderful Christmas season of being pregnant ahead of me
  • I ate a yogurt for supper at 9:00 at night
  • I went to bed early
  • I had no clue that when I woke up the next morning my whole life would be forever changed for the better by the arrival of the sweetest little girl
, ,

  1. #1 by Emily Jane on December 10, 2010 - 11:00 am

    Oh wow, what a story… it’s incredible to look back on those life changing moments and remember the hours leading up to them completely unaware of what lay around the corner šŸ™‚

    • #2 by impossiblyalice on December 10, 2010 - 11:52 am

      Yes! Sometimes I wonder if I knew it was going to be my last non-Mom day, would I have done anything different? I don’t think so though because I had a thoroughly lazy day!

  2. #3 by Sarah on December 10, 2010 - 11:07 am

    Awwww… that was really tugging at my heart strings! And she’s SO adorable, too!

  3. #5 by ana on December 10, 2010 - 11:09 am

    so sweet. they really do change your life in expected and unexpected ways.

    • #6 by impossiblyalice on December 10, 2010 - 11:53 am

      Thank you ana! It is surreal to think that she wasn’t here a year ago…and how much she has changed in that year.

  4. #7 by Melanie on December 10, 2010 - 12:16 pm

    super-sweet post, S! happy almost 1st birthday, Miss Alice šŸ™‚

  5. #9 by San on December 11, 2010 - 1:46 am

    OMG, she’s such a cutiepie!

    • #10 by impossiblyalice on December 15, 2010 - 3:56 pm

      Thanks San!! I was pleasantly surprised to see that she came out cute!

Leave a Reply

