A New Chapter Begins

Time becomes such a strange thing as you get older. I can’t comprehend how much has changed since this time last year, yet time has gone by way too fast!

Last year we had a fondue New Year’s Eve for just the 2 of us. It was a nice and quiet New Year’s and just what we needed. We were both way too tired to have anyone over and entertain because we never got more than 2 hours of sleep at a time. And this was if we were lucky!

On this day last year, I was struggling to recover from my c section and starting to get restless. I had some minor setbacks the week before and was ordered to do less, which was hard because I wasn’t doing much. My baby was still too small to be able to breast feed so I had a tedious routine every 3 hours: wake baby, feed baby, pump, change diaper, sterilize the equipment at least twice a day and it was really starting to get to me. Luckily when we were able to transition to full breast feeding, she took to it awesomely.

My husband went to our annual late Christmas with his Dad and we decided that the baby and I would stay home because it was too much work for him to haul us and all of our equipment around. Not only did he have to carry the baby and all the standard stuff when you have a new baby such as a pile of diapers, sleepers, blankets, cloths, etc, but we had to bring all the pumping equipment and ensure it remained sterilized because of her compromised immune system due to being near term. And I would have to have a place where I could pump in privacy. The only room on the main floor of my brother in law’s house with a door was their tiny bathroom and I didn’t want to pump in there and I wasn’t cleared by the doctor to go up and down stairs yet (my husband was very insistent on following all the doctor’s recovery orders).

Even though we were tired and our house was definitely not festive, it was a wonderful start to a year. We didn’t know what to expect but our little girl has managed to give us the most magical year. Now, my year at home with her is drawing to a close way to quickly and a new chapter of my life is about to begin. I am going to learn how to adjust to being a working Mom. It will be hard to balance everything out and give my little girl all the attention she deserves but I am sure that between my husband and I, we will find the balance we need to raise our daughter together so that she turns into a happy and confident toddler who is sure of herself and our love for her.

 

, ,

  1. #1 by charmacc on January 1, 2011 - 10:46 pm

    Its a tough go, getting back into the swing of working, but trust me, it all sorts itself out. We are in our 6th year of being working parents and I like to think we’ve managed to still have enough time with mck to help her become the smart and funny little girl she is (though it will never feel like there are enough hours in the day, but you manage!!). 🙂

    • #2 by impossiblyalice on January 4, 2011 - 10:44 am

      Thanks. It is encouraging to see that other people can successfully do it.

  2. #3 by Emily Jane on January 3, 2011 - 11:02 am

    I’m sure it will be difficult to get back into the working routine, but your daughter sounds like a very lucky little girl indeed. I’m sure she’ll know just how very loved she is. Happy new year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

