If you could have any job in the world, what would it be?

“If you could have any job in the world, what would it be?”
This is the topic for those participating in the daily post which, as you can tell, I am not a part of but I really liked this question.

Right now the obvious answer is being a stay at home mom. But what about when my baby is in school? I will need something to fulfill me. And being a stay at home mom is not in the cards right now. I would also love to be a full-time etsy seller but I would have to be a lot more dedicated to make it work, and since I have to work right now that isn’t really possible either. I am waiting on a large yarn order and then I will make more items and fill up  my shop for the upcoming spring/summer seasons!

So, for now, I have to be a corporate drone so we can continue to live in the lifestyle that we are accustomed to and I can save money for hopefully a second maternity leave. I have been thinking a lot about what elements would be in my perfect job and I don’t think I want to much, I just need to figure out where I can find it.

Some of my best skills or problem solving and organizing data and concepts (as long as it isn’t a physical object). I like to be creative and think of new ways of doing old things. I like to work with people but I do not like being in customer service. I am not a morning person but I find I do better work when I start early in the morning. I would also like to work somewhere where I feel like my work makes a difference.

Does anyone have any suggestions on where I can find this? I continue to find this feeling every day in my current job and I think it would be convenient if I can find this feeling in my current job. I used to have this feeling before my maternity leave, so perhaps I can find it again.

WordPress also suggested we talk about our worst jobs. Not to name names but I worked at a fast food giant and it was awful. A lot of people have fond memories of working there but any that I have are because I worked with some of my friends. I have a lot of awful stories of my life there, but one of the best ones was when I was taken to the back and the manager tried to teach me HOW TO TAKE BIGGER STEPS. I guess my leg length was not up to the company standard.

I had another job that wasn’t so much as awful, but more pointless and I couldn’t believe they paid me to study. Eventually, they realized that my position was pointless and all I did was study and they let me go.

Do any of you have any awful jobs in the past? What about your dream job – are you able to think of fantastic and unpractical careers that I am unable to think of today?

, ,

  1. #1 by San on February 2, 2011 - 9:49 am

    I am really in a dilemma here, because I have a job that I really love. I don’t mind going to work in the morning. Most days are really rewarding. I solve problems, I can be somewhat creative with my work process and I work in an awesome team.

    Still, I wouldn’t call my work my DREAM job, because if it was my dream job, I would probably not look forward to my free time as much, but would like to work all the time … or that’s at least what I would like my dream job to be like.

    • #2 by impossiblyalice on February 2, 2011 - 10:36 am

      I understand completely how you feel. But then I think that if your dream became your job, would it still be your dream?

Leave a Reply

