I’m Feeling A Bit Spicy

I have a problem in my kitchen. It is a nice size but there are too many windows and doors and a poor layout so there isn’t much counter space. Taking up precious counter space for me is a rotating spice rack filled with many spices that came with it that I will likely never use. I am sure a lot of people struggle with the same thing in their kitchens. But there is a solution!

Meet Katrina, of Salt City Spice on Etsy. She makes gorgeous magnetic spice racks which you can hang on your wall that are often upcycled from old pieces of metal. You can get a spice rack that is both gorgeous and functional!

Describe yourself

I’m married to my college sweetheart with a darling 13 month old daughter. I pretty much love everything related to food except, ironically, the word “foodie.” I’m a terrible liar and like to think I’m funny (my husband doesn’t always agree).

How did you get started in the world of crafting?

I’ve always loved crafts – drawing, making doll clothes, and creating jewelry were favorite activities growing up. My mom encouraged me by supplying seemingly endless supplies like markers, fabric scraps, beads, kits, and even a knitting machine at one point! I wish I still had that in fact – I would use it to make bodyless sweaters. Wait, what do you mean they’re called arm warmers?

Your etsy shop is called saltcityspice, does this have any meaning to you? How did you choose the name?

I’m sure you’ve figured out the Spice part, haha. We moved to Syracuse, NY (aka, the Salt City) a few years ago and thought we’d be missing out on our favorite big city restaurants. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that Syracuse has its own small, but strong food scene and that people here are placing more and more emphasis on local products – I want to help support the Buy/Eat Local movement in any way I can, so I figured my shop name was a good place to start.

What is a typical day for you?

I wake up at noon, put on something fabulous, read the paper while sipping a perpetually hot latte, then spend the rest of my day cooking something intricate for dinner. Ok, not really – I’m a stay-at-home mom so a typical day is a bit of a juggling act, but I love and appreciate every day I’m home with my daughter and wouldn’t have it any other way.

What inspires you?

I’m inspired by creative reuses of materials, either by salvaging what most would consider waste and turning it into something beautiful and functional, or upcycling an item into something more useful or relevant than the original piece. I’m constantly looking at things and wondering what else they could be with a little imagination.

What is your favourite thing in your shop and why?

This Chalkboard Spice Rack

I had the idea to make a combo spice rack/chalkboard like this when I first opened up my shop but couldn’t get the materials quite right at first. As soon as this one was done, I immediately made another and put it in my own kitchen!

If you could go back and give yourself advice on starting out on etsy, what would it be?

Really treat it like a business right from the start – take your time to figure out your focus, put together a cohesive shop look, and get a business plan in place. Also, ask for help when you need it! There are people out there willing to give you honest, constructive advice if you just ask.

What are some of your favourite etsy shops?

Well, there’s this one shop that sells gorgeous hand-knit items called ImpossiblyAlice! Really, I have so many favorites – lately, the organizational junkie in me is loving the posters from Popchartlab and the functional art side of me loves the unexpected edible creations from andiespecialtysweets.

Do you do any other types of crafts?

Only for my own intents and purposes – I’m proud of having made most of the decorative items in my daughter’s nursery like her bedskirt, mobile, and wall art. If cooking counts as a craft then I do a lot of that too.

Is there any craft you wish you knew how to do?

I’d love to get my hands on a letterpress and do a little old-fashioned graphic design. I like the result of the words actually imprinted into the paper – it’s such a lost art form.

Zombies, pirates, ninjas, or vampires?

Pirates (they all look like Johnny Depp right?)

*******************

Please visit her blog, follow her on twitter, and most importantly, visit her etsy shop and buy a spice rack!

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

