Consuming Me

Sometimes a memory consumes me.

Every Wednesday after swimming lessons I look at the vending machines and I am transported through space and time. I am at Concordia pool waiting for my Dad to pick us up and I am begging my Mom to buy me some Beep from the vending machine. I rarely got Beep, maybe only a handful of times yet this is one of my strongest memories of swimming lessons.

Do you remember beep?

, ,

  1. #1 by saltcityspice on February 24, 2011 - 10:04 am

    Ok, I’m curious – what’s Beep?

    • #2 by impossiblyalice on February 26, 2011 - 10:56 am

      It was a super delicious “juice”. I looked it up and it was only actually 1% juice. I would probably hate it if I had some now. Or love it because it will make me go on a crazy sugar high!

  2. #3 by Melanie on February 25, 2011 - 8:33 am

    haha, i have similar memories at that pool 🙂 except it wasn’t beep for me (which i loved, btw), i always wanted hickory sticks, LOL. oh the good ol’ days!

    • #4 by impossiblyalice on February 26, 2011 - 10:58 am

      you also went to concordia?!? We may have had classes together. Or at least we may have been there at the same time!

      Were you ever allowed to get the hickory sticks?

      • #5 by Melanie on March 1, 2011 - 7:19 pm

        our paths very well may have crossed at Concordia Pool 🙂 what a small city we live in! and yes, occasionally i was allowed pump that machine full of coins for some hickory sticks, lol.

      • #6 by impossiblyalice on March 1, 2011 - 8:38 pm

        oohhh….I am so jealous! I was rarely allowed to use vending machines!

        How far did you make it? I was not a very coordinated child so once I FINALLY passed maroon, I was allowed to quit. i think I was far too old for the level I was at!

Leave a Reply

