You May Think I’m Crazy But…

You may think I’m crazy but I love going to the dentist.

 

Dentist Gorilla Dr. U.Grunt by KittydirtVintage on Etsy

 

I love the feeling of having clean teeth. I have mildly sensitive teeth so sometimes it can hurt a bit, but I find it worth it to have clean teeth. I’ve gotten cavities filled and other minor dental procedures in the past without a worry.

I find it relaxing to go to the dentist’s office and lay back in the chair and not have to worry about communicating. I find my dentist’s constant off-key humming and occasional bursting out into song comforting.

 

Wisdom Tooth Cameo Necklace (black laser cut acrylic) by emikoshop on Etsy

 

 

Five years ago, I got my top two wisdom teeth pulled out. They had grown out of my gums and they were not causing problems with the rest of my teeth so my dentist was able to do it for me in his office. My dentist froze my mouth and was doing some work in there while keeping up a one-sided conversation. A few minutes later he said “Ok” and I asked if he was ready to pull my teeth. He told me that he had already pulled them! It had barely been any time and I only felt some mild pressure in my gums. This may sound odd, but it was definitely a relatively pleasant experience.

 

Wisdom Tooth Print 8x10 by theblackapple on Etsy

 

So if I love going to the dentist so much and don’t mind dental procedures, why am I filled with dread over going to get my bottom two wisdom teeth out this Thursday via dental surgery? I mean, I will not feel the pain, I won’t remember the experience, I get to eat loads of jello, and I will have 2 whole days off of work. How does this not sound great?

I am so scared!

  1. #1 by Katrina on March 13, 2011 - 11:12 pm

    I really don’t mind the dentist either! I completely know what you mean that it’s nice to have the dentist-cleaned feeling. I’ve even had (sometimes intense) dental work done and that has never really bothered me, I just kind of lay back and tune it out. Hope everything goes well with the wisdom teeth – I had all 4 of mine done at once, definitely not something to look forward to but also not the worst thing ever. Enjoy the time off of work if you can, and of course the Jell-O!

    • #2 by impossiblyalice on March 14, 2011 - 4:40 pm

      I am glad to know that I am not the only one who generally likes going to the dentist. I am wondering if my anxiety is more food related because i have no clue what I will be able to eat after and I like being prepared for stuff like that. I guess I will just make some soup broth and hope for the best!

  2. #3 by San on March 15, 2011 - 5:04 pm

    I don’t mind the dentist, but I don’t love it either…. and you should totally just not think about your dental surgery (ha! easier said than done, right?! ;)).

  3. #4 by Alfredo Gapuz on October 20, 2011 - 3:28 pm

    My sister is the same way, she loves going to the dentist.

Leave a Reply

