Christmas Knitting!

I hope I have not taken on more than I can chew, or knit. I have decided to knit Christmas gifts this year (and some birthday knits).

First up is my first finished Christmas knit.
Thistle

This is my Thistle scarf by Tin Can Knits. They are having a KAL from September 15 to November 15 so I thought it was the perfect time to knit this scarf! I managed to get my hands on 2 precious skeins of the March 2011 colour from Tanis Fiber Arts Year in Colour Club! It is Purple Label and the colour is called Clover. The Purple Label is an incredibly soft fingering weight composed of 70% merino, 20% cashmere, and 10% nylon. It is for someone who loves the colour green.

I am also making a Fino Circle Scarf for someone this year!
Fino Infinity

I was originally going to make another Thistle with this yarn but one of the skeins was not subtly variegated and it looked terrible (and that is me being polite). The recipient likes circle scarves and I can easily knit this while watching swimming lessons and ballet class and I can knit it on the bus when I go back to work (EEP). Because the skeins are too different from each other, I have decided to put a subtle stripe in this but alternating the skeins every 11 rows. I think I like it. I hope the recipient does.   It is made from Manos Del Uruguay Fino which is a single ply fingering weight which is 70% merino and 30% silk. It is so soft and drapey. The one suggestion I have if you are going  to knit with this is DO NOT USE A CENTRE PULL BALL. Take the yarn from the outside. It catches and gets stuck on itself like nobody`s business. I bought this yarn at Wolseley Wool, they had a lot of beautiful colours when I was in the store but I was looking for a more neutral colour.

My final project that I have started is a Fairy Mist Cowl.

Fairy Mist

 

This is the only project so far where I bought the skein first and then had to find a pattern. I got it in the Tanis Fiber Arts OOAK sale in September. It is a Pink Label called Turnover and it has beautiful pops of teal and purple and grey and a lot of other subtle colours. I do not have a fancy enough camera to capture the beauty of the yarn. The colours are perfect for the recipient but I had to find a pattern where the yarn and the pattern do not compete with each other. I also had to find a pattern that has more interest than just plain stockinette stitch because there is only so much of that I can do!

I have more Christmas knitting planned! I hope I can get to it all!

Are you doing any Christmas knitting?

 

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

