Meeting Alejandra

I had the great pleasure of interviewing Alejandra , the artist and owner behind Aldari on Etsy. If you would like to know more about her, please visit her website and blog, like her facebook page, and follow her on twitter.

*************************

Describe yourself

My name is Alejandra, I am 28 years old, I am from Mexico and I live in British Columbia, Canada

How did you get started in art?

I´ve always had a passion for all forms of art. I´ve been and artist and photographer since I was very young, started painting when I was 15, studied graphic design and love making vector illustrations.

Recently I started making mandalas digitally with my photography and art. Due to their depth, shapes and symmetry, Mandalas have always been special to me.

Your etsy shop is called aldari, does that have any special meaning to you? How did you choose the name?

“Aldari” has been my artistic signature since I was 15. “Al” comes from Alejandra, “Da” from Danel (my last name) and “Ri” from Rivera my second last name (in Mexico we use both).

What is a typical day for you?

Get up 7 am, check my Esty shop for sales and convos, make treasuries, blog, and promote on Facebook and Twitter. In the afternoon I print and ship sales. After that I work on new digital designs, jewelry, paint, photos, among others. Many days I work from morning until night.

What inspires you?

I find inspirations everywhere! In particular, textures and colors in nature.

What is your favourite thing in your shop and why?

Actually, I have four favorites.

Elephant and Little Friend

This illustration I made it for my little niece Isabella before she was born.

Round Rock

This photo, because I love its simplicity and the circle is my favorite shape.

Singing Bird on Branch


I love the composition of this photo, the rich blue sky, and I can hear the bird sing.

Eternal Flow Mandala

This one is my favorite mandala because I created it from an original painting of mine called “Ripples of Water”.

If you could go back and give yourself advice on starting out on etsy, what would it be?

I would begin promoting on all social networks asap, and would join teams immediately.

What are some of your favourite etsy shops?

I have so many! These are only a few:

Do you do any other types of crafts?

Yes, I enjoy making jewelry especially out of my mandalas. You can find pendants in my shop and I just started making really cool earrings which aren´t available yet, but keep checking I will have them for sale soon!

Is there any type of craft you wish you knew how to do?

Yes, I would love to make my designs into silver jewelry in the future.

Zombies, pirates, ninjas, or vampires?

Ninjas!
*************************

Isn`t she great? Don`t forget to click on the following links to get to know Alejandra better!

Website
www.alejandradanel.com/

Blog
laespatularoja.blogspot.com/

Facebook
www.facebook.com/AldariArt

Twitter
twitter.com/AldariArt

,

  1. #1 by corina on January 12, 2011 - 11:44 am

    Off to visit her shop right now! Nice interview.

  2. #2 by Alejandra on January 12, 2011 - 11:58 am

    Sheryl, thank you so much for featuring me here! Looks beautiful! 😀

  3. #3 by Eva on January 12, 2011 - 1:39 pm

    Great interview! I love the elephant!

  4. #4 by Iveth on January 13, 2011 - 7:56 pm

    I love Ale’s art, Great interview!

Leave a comment